CMA Book Awards



This program recognizes the outstanding work of publishers, authors, and book editors that support the faith-filled life of Catholic readers.


The Catholic Media Association announces winning entry names at its Catholic Media Conference, publishes them in the Awards issue of The Catholic Journalist, and showcases them on the CMA website. The Book Awards had over 350 entries, 55 categories and 76 applicants including 47 publications and 29 self publishing authors.

Books submitted to the CMA Book Awards must have a copyright date from the preceding year. Publishers may submit any works published by their company, authors may submit works of which they are the primary author or co-author, and editors may submit their compilations or reference books.

2023 Program

Key Dates

  • Open Submission Period: November 2022 through January 2023 
  • Extension Period: TBD   
  • Hard Copy Materials Due: TBD

Entry Fees

  • CPA Members - $36 per entry during Open Period, $45 during Extension Period
  • Non-Members -  $76 per entry

Category Listing

The CMA Book Awards packet specifies eligibility requirements, submission instructions, and a full category list.

Click below for category options and entry instructions;