Catholic Media Association Announces Opening of 2024 Gabriel Awards Program

Info and Updates,

CHICAGO, Illinois (Nov. 1, 2023) — The Catholic Media Association announced today the submission period is officially open for the 2024 Gabriel Awards, a premier program honoring excellence in film, broadcast, and digital media productions released in the United States and Canada. Information detailing the awards program is available at

The Gabriel Awards Committee made some updates to the 2024 awards program, including the introduction of the Best Multi-Cast category.

Established in 1965 to “recognize outstanding artistic achievement in a television or radio program or series that entertains and enriches with a true vision of humanity and true vision of life,” a Gabriel-worthy award entry is dedicated to authenticity and excellence. It affirms and highlights values of dignity, community, tolerance, justice, or compassion. The primary goal of the Gabriel Awards is to encourage media professionals to serve, enrich, challenge, and uplift their audiences.

The Gabriel Awards Committee accepts professional entries for work in film, radio, English and Spanish language television, and digital media projects completed in the 2023 calendar year.

The awards spotlight various genres, from theology and spirituality to historical accounts, children’s literature, and more, appreciating the diversity and richness within Catholic writing. Beyond acknowledgment, the award winners enjoy heightened visibility, amplified by features on various platforms including our website and social media channels.

Gabriel Awards Finalists will be announced on April 19, 2024. Gabriel Awards Winners are honored at a special reception and presentation on June 20, 2024, during the annual Catholic Media Conference in Atlanta, Georgia. First-place winners receive a statuette, and runners-up receive an award certificate. All winning entries receive recognition through a listing in the association's award issue of The Catholic Journalist, and are viewable on the award portal of the CMA website. Winning entries are promoted on the Catholic Media Association’s social media channels.


Enter the Awards Program

Download the 2024 Gabriel Awards Packet


  • Open Submission Period: Nov. 1, 2023 - Jan. 31, 2024 at 11:59 p.m. CT
  • Extension Period: Feb. 1-7, 2024 at 11:59 am CT
  • Payment Deadline: Feb. 9, 2024



The Catholic Media Association is committed to our mission of helping our members share the Good News through Catholic media. We provide professional development, networking, inspiration, and support for the faith formation of Catholic media professionals.

For more information about the Gabriel Awards and the Catholic Media Association, visit: For questions, email or call (312) 380-6789.